Latest News

Shortlist announced for Stadium Business Awards 2011

Wednesday, May 18, 2011 ~ 12:00pm

We are delighted to announce the shortlisted entries for all categories for the Stadium Business Awards 2011.

Category 1. Venue of the Year

  • Turk Telekom Arena, Istanbul
  • STAPLES Center, LA
  • Emirates Stadium, London
  • Meadowlands Stadium, New Jersey
  • AVIVA Stadium, Dublin
  • LG Arena, Birmingham
  • Target Field, Minneapolis

Category 2. Sports Event of the Year

  • Barclays ATP World Tennis Finals at The O2
  • World Wheelchair Basketball Championships 2010 at The NIA Birmingham
  • T20 Finals Day at The Rose Bowl, Southampton
  • 2010 FIFA World Cup Final at Soccer City, Johannesburg

Category 3. Guest Event of the Year

  • U2 360° World Stadium Tour
  • Capital FM/Delaware North Summertime Ball at Wembley Stadium
  • Roger Waters in concert at Air Canada Centre
  • Ben Hur at ANZ Stadium, Sydney

Category 4. Executive of the Year

  • Daniel Gidney, Chief Executive, Ricoh Arena
  • Ebru Koksal, General Manager, Galatasaray AS
  • Uwe Frommhold, Managing Director, O2 World Hamburg
  • Paul Cuttill, General Manager, Liverpool Football Club
  • Jean-Claude Blanc, Juventus FC

Category 5. Unsung Hero Award

  • Eric Randerson, Sports & Education Foundation Manager, Doncaster Rovers
  • Trevor Bow, Building Services Manager, Suncorp Stadium
  • Alan Gallagher, Operations Manager, Croke Park
  • Facility Operations Team, New Meadowlands Stadium

Category 6. Bulldozer Award

  • London 2012 Olympic Stadium, UK
  • Memorial Stadium, Bristol, UK
  • Candlestick Park, San Francisco, California, USA

Category 7. Customer Experience

  • City of Manchester Stadium, Manchester City FC
  • Customer Experience Department, Liverpool FC
  • Cardiff City Stadium Family Area, Cardiff City FC
  • LG Arena, The NEC Group
  • York Racecourse, UK

Category 8. Team Player of the Year

  • Lucas Hampl, RKW Rhode Kellerman Warwrowski
  • Jacky Isaac, HR and Operations Director, Ricoh Arena
  • Julian Jenkins, Head of Customer Services and Ticketing, Cardiff City FC

Category 9. Safety & Security Award

  • Training Event Safety Solutions Ltd
  • Wembley Stadium Crowd Safety Team
  • Northern Racing's Safety Management System
  • Arsenal FC / Emirates Stadium

Category 10. Product Innovation

  • Ping HD Digital Menu Board at AT&T Park
  • PACIFA Decision
  • Aviva Stadium's innovative use of Digital Coupons & Cashless technology via Mobile Phone
  • AstroTurf’s Magic Carpet II system
  • Wembley Stadium Centre of Excellence
  • StewardCall at Blackburn Rovers FC

Category 11. Sustainability Award

  • The NEC Group (LG Arena and The NIA), Birmingham, UK
  • Aviva Stadium, Dublin, Ireland
  • CONSOL Energy Center, Pittsburgh, USA
  • BMO Field in Toronto, Canada
  • Air Canada Centre, Toronto, Canada
  • Stadio Marcantonio Bentegodi- Verona, Italy

Category 12. Backlash Award

  • 2012 Olympic Stadium Legacy Decision
  • Roland Garros Customer Service
  • Superbowl XLV at Cowboys Stadium

Category 13. Industry Supplier

  • Call Systems Technology
  • Barco
  • Sony
  • Ticketmaster
  • GMP Architects
  • Daktronics
  • Figueras International Seating

Category 14. Rising Star

  • Lukasz Wysocki, Euro 2012 Stadium Coordinator, National Sports Centre, Poland
  • Steven Salm, General Manager, Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment Ltd., Canada
  • Justine Hewitt, Events Manager, Ricoh Arena, UK
  • Hans-Joerg Otto, Head of Stadium Operations, gluecksgas Stadion, Germany

Category 15. Project of the Year

  • The Boot Room Sports Café at Anfield, Liverpool FC, UK
  • New conferencing and hotel facilities at Ricoh Arena
  • Eden Park Redevelopment, New Zealand
  • Arsenal Club Level at Emirates Stadium

Category 16. Outstanding Achievement

  • David Campbell in his role as President/CEO, AEG Europe/The O2 (now COO, Formula 1)
  • Bernie Mullin, Chairman and CEO, The Aspire Group, USA
  • Jim Host, Chairman, Louisville Arena Authority, USA
  • Paul Latham, President, Live Nation UK

Category 17. Community Award

  • Everton In The Community
  • York Racecourse
  • Keepmoat Stadium
  • Cardiff City FC

Category 18. Architecture & Design

  • Michael Hopkins and Partners for London 2012 Velodrome
  • Zwarts & Jansma Architects / Merkx+Girod Architects for Ahoy, Rotterdam
  • Ellerbe Becket for JELD-WEN Field (formerly PGE Park)
  • Populous / Scott Tallon Walker for AVIVA Stadium

Category 19. New Venue

  • Turk Telekom Arena, Istanbul
  • Empire Field Stadium, Vancouver
  • New Meadowlands Stadium, New Jersey
  • Legia Warsaw Stadium, Warsaw
  • AVIVA Stadium, Dublin
  • Omnilife Stadium, Guadalajara Jalisco, Mexico
  • MMArena, Le Mans

Category 20. Sponsorship & Sales

  • BC Place, for Budweiser sponsorship agreement
  • Manchester City FC for fan marketing campaigns
  • AEG for Farmers Field naming rights (LA Football Stadium)
  • New Meadowlands Stadium, for ‘Cornerstone Sponsor’ model
  • Haydock Park Racecourse, for Live Music Open-Air Concerts



The judges have been provided a full, non-attributed list of all Supporting Statements that accompanied the Nominations. They have been asked to independently investigate and evaluate each of the shortlisted entries before they convene in Barcelona on 14 June for the final vote.

The winners will be announced at the Stadium Business Awards gala evening at Camp Nou on 15 June, in the presence of the international delegates of Stadium Business Summit 2011. Winners will be posted onto this site soon after. GOOD LUCK EVERYBODY!


Related posts:

  1. Shortlist unveiled for 2010 Stadium Business Awards in association with Guinness
  2. Judging Panel of 2010 Stadium Business Awards announced
  3. Stadium Business Awards 2011 heads to Camp Nou
  4. Nominations pour in for Stadium Business Awards 2011
  5. Xperiology launches Stadium Business Awards