Latest News

Shortlist unveiled for 2010 Stadium Business Awards in association with Guinness

Sunday, April 11, 2010 ~ 15:57pm

The shortlisted nominations for the 2010 Stadium Business Awards in association with Guinness has revealed the truly international flavour of the awards.

The shortlist of entries is as follows:

Team Player of the Year, sponsored by EVMI

  • Philip Johnson, Populous (London 2012 Olympic Stadium)
  • Liz Cooper, Marketing Manager, Ricoh Arena, UK
  • Semih Usta, Sports Director, Besiktas JK, Turkey

Innovation of the Year, sponsored by Ricoh Arena

  • Agilysys CRS at Twickenham Stadium
  • SkyView, at the Ericsson Globe, Stockholm/Sweden
  • Moving Roof, Centre Court, Wimbledon - AELTC
  • Payment Solution/JustPay contactless smart cards

The Bulldozer Award

  • Withdean Stadium, Brighton, UK
  • Fratton Park, Portsmouth, UK
  • The Bird's Nest/Beijing Olympic Stadium, China

Sustainability Award

  • Croke Park Stadium Cúl Green Initiative
  • VANOC - Vancouver Organizing Committee for the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games
  • Installation of photovoltaics on Ullevi Stadium, Sweden

Event of the Year

  • Opening Ceremony Donbass Arena, Ukraine
  • 1st nPower Ashes Test match at SWALEC Stadium, Cardiff
  • Croke Park's 125th GAA Anniversary Show, Dublin
  • Paul McCartney Concert, O2 Arena, London
  • Andy Murray at Wimbledon under a closed roof, London


  • Cowboys Stadium HD Video Board, Texas, USA
  • Museo River / River Plate FC, Argentina
  • Emirates Stadium banner-wrapping
  • Sunderland's Stadium of Light 2009 events calendar
  • Ricoh Arena’s marketing offers

The Backlash Award

  • Wembley's pitch fiasco
  • Durban Stadium's Sky Ride, South Africa

Matchday Experience, sponsored by Payment Solution

  • Keepmoat Stadium, Doncaster, UK
  • Grolsch Veste (The Grolsch Fortress), The Netherlands
  • Anfield Road (Liverpool FC), UK

Safety Award

  • Donbass Arena / intelligent CCTV System
  • Croke Park Stadium / training & management
  • Arsenal FC/Emirates Stadium / matchday stewarding

Unsung Hero

  • Paul Burgess, Grounds Manager, Real Madrid FC, Spain
  • Everton FC's "Stadium Department", UK
  • Paula Street, Lindley Group Area Manager, UK

Executive of the Year, sponsored by Agilysys

  • Glenn Delve, Group MD, Rose Bowl plc, UK
  • Patrik Meyer, CEO, Commerzbank Arena, Germany
  • Terry Stevens, Stevens & Associates, UK
  • Shane Chalmers, Head, Stadium Management Co., Keepmoat Stadium, UK
  • Russ Stanley, Managing VP, Ticket Services & Client Relations, San Francisco Giants, USA

Venue of the Year

  • Ricoh Arena, Coventry, UK
  • new Espanyol Stadium, Barcelona
  • The O2, London
  • Twickenham Stadium, London
  • Cowboys Stadium, USA
  • Donbass Arena, Ukraine

Nominations are now closed. The winners will be announced during Stadium Business Summit at the Guinness Storehouse, Dublin on June16th 2010. If you wish to attend the Awards contact us for tickets.

Related posts:

  1. Winners of the Stadium Business Awards 2010
  2. Judging Panel of 2010 Stadium Business Awards announced
  3. How does your stadium business compare? Global operators survey to be unveiled
  4. Shortlist announced for Stadium Business Awards 2011
  5. Xperiology launches Stadium Business Awards